The former Member of Parliament for Nadowli-Kaleo, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin has been sworn-in as the new Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic of Ghana reports.

From about 9 pm when the NDC MPs stormed Parliament House, it has been one act of drama, shame, and disgrace after the other. The NDC MPs decided to sit at the right-hand side of the Speaker of Parliament signifying that they form a majority in Parliament.

Alban Bagbin

This incurred the wrath of the NPP MPs which resulted in a heated argument on the floor of the house.

Apart from the nasty incidences experienced at the house, it has been reported that an NPP MP, Carlos Ahenkorah decided to snatch the ballot box used for the election of the Speaker of Parliament.

READ ALSO:Livestream: NPP MP snatches ballot papers, NDC MPs jubilate over yet-to-be-announced Speaker results

He was chased by the NDC MPs and some security men and eventually overpowered.

This spectacle caused some uproar and confusion in the Parliament House and subsequently saw the NDC MPs jubilating because of their belief that NDC’s Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin had won the elections and needed to be sworn in as Speaker of Parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *