ministers and regional ministers

The President of the Republic, Nana Akufo-Addo has released a list of appointees to the Council of State in accordance to Article 89(2) of the Constitution of Ghana.

A statement from the Communications Directorate of Jubilee House released Monday, 1st February 2021, and signed by Acting Director of Communications at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin, indicates that a total of 11 people have been appointed to the Council of State.

According to the communique, Juabenhene, Nana Otuo Siriboe II, the legal practitioner, Sam Okuzeto and Stanley Blankson have all been maintained by the President.

The others include; Dr Magaret Amoakohene, Georgina Kusi and Alberta Cudjoe.

In addition, subject to consultation with Parliament, the President has also appointed for Chief Justice, Georgina Theodora Wood, former Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces, Lt Gen J.B. Danquah and former Inspector General of Police, Nana Owusu Nsiah to the council.

This, the statement indicated, is in accordance with Article 89(2)(a)(i)(ii) and (iii) of the Constitution of Ghana.

Mr Arhin concluded that “The composition of the Council will be complete with the election, due to be held on 12th February, of the regional representatives, in accordance with Article 89(2)(c).

Related Articles