Member of Parliament for North Tongu Constituency, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, has resigned from the Appointments Committee.

According to him, the decision to resign from the committee is personal and on principle.

This comes at a time the leadership of the minority in Parliament and the Appointments Committee in particular have been accused of taking huge sums of money to approve appointees of the Akufo-Addo led administration.

The Appointments Committee of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic is chaired by the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joe Osei Wusu, the 26-member committee has13 members on each side of the House – 13 NDC members and 13 NPP members.

Member of Parliament for Effutu and Chief Whip of the NPP caucus, Alexander Afenyo-Markin is the vice chair of the committee, while leader of the NDC caucus, Haruna Iddrisu and Chief Whip of the NDC caucus, Mubarak-Muntaka are ranking members.

The Appointments Committee is among other things responsible for the vetting of nominees for ministerial positions and other public offices.

Related Articles

%d bloggers like this: